Frequently Asked Questions
[toggles][toggle title=”1. How much time do I have to answer my traffic ticket?”] [raw]Drivers have 15 days to answer traffic tickets; however, we recommend that you contact a New York traffic ticket attorney as soon as you receive the ticket. This way, we can enter a Not Guilty plea right away, and you will not risk answering the ticket too late. [/raw] [/toggle] [toggle title=”2. What if I don’t answer my ticket?”] [raw]If you do not answer your ticket within 15 days, your license will be suspended until you answer the original ticket and pay a suspension termination fee. If you continue to ignore the ticket and suspension, you will be found guilty by default conviction on the original ticket, and also have to pay extra fines, surcharges, and fees to terminate your license suspension. [/raw] [/toggle] [toggle title=”3. How will pleading guilty affect your insurance?”] [raw]Insurance companies can increase your premiums based on the points accumulated on your driving record. Rates can rise dramatically with just one speeding ticket. If an insurance company examines your record to find that you are in a high risk category, they can cancel your insurance altogether.[/raw] [/toggle] [toggle title=” 4. Will I have to appear in court to defend my case?”] [raw]In most cases, you will not have to appear in court if you have retained a New York traffic attorney. Sometimes you may have to appear for criminal summonses and Refusal Hearings, though the attorney will let you know exactly what you need to do.[/raw] [/toggle] [toggle title=” 5. Will a police officer give me all the correct information regarding my ticket?”] [raw]It depends. Police officers do not have to give you legal advice, such as whether or not it would be better to fight a ticket or plead guilty. It is always better to contact a New York traffic ticket attorney and let them examine the ticket. A traffic ticket attorney will tell you how to best proceed in your own best interest.[/raw] [/toggle][toggle title=” 6. What is the New York Driver Responsibility Assessment?”] [raw]The New York Driver Responsibility Assessment is a fee imposed on drivers for the following offenses:
- ● Convicted of a DWI/DUI involving an automobile, boat, or snowmobile in New York State
- ● Refusing to submit to a chemical test for blood alcohol level
- ● Receiving 6 points on your driver’s license within 18 months for traffic offenses in New York State, Ontario, or Quebec.
For more information, please visit our NYS Driver Responsibility Assessment page.[/raw] [/toggle][/toggles][toggles][toggle title=”7. When are adults required to wear a seat belt?”] [raw]Any adult passenger in the front seat is required to wear a seat belt; however, if you are over the age of 16 and sitting in the backseat you are not required to be buckled up. As an NY Traffic Lawyer, I do recommend that you buckle up in the backseat too.[/raw]
Avvo Legal Answers