NY DMV Refusal Hearing Lawyer
In New York, the law mandates you take a breathalyzer test upon the request of a police officer. If you are 21 years old or older and your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08 or higher you will be charged with a DWI. Refusal to blow into a breathalyzer will automatically result in the suspension of your driver’s license. In order to have your license reinstated and avoid any possible penalties, such as the revocation of your license and a fine of at least $500, you must attend a Refusal Hearing at the DMV.
While you have the right to waive a DMV Refusal Hearing, a New York traffic attorney would tell you that it’s in your best interest to go forward with the hearing. By waiving your right to the Refusal Hearing, you are admitting guilt to the charge and WILL have your license revoked, have to pay a fine as well as the NY Driver Responsibility Assessment. Representation by a New York Refusal Hearing lawyer will increase your chances of a positive outcome, as there are a number of laws that an experienced attorney should know.
Attorney Michael Block has more than 25 years experience fighting traffic tickets and achieving positive outcomes for his clients. When you are given a DMV Refusal Hearing for refusing to submit to a chemical drug and/or alcohol test, please contact our office at 212-227-9008 for a free consultation.