New York Ticket Lawyer: Driver Responsibility Assessment Fee

About the Driver’s Responsibility Assessment Fee

If you accumulate 6 or more points within 18 months, you are required to pay a DRAF—Drier Responsibility Assessment Fee.  On November 2004, then-governor, George Pataki, authorized the Driver Responsibility Assessment Fee.

This fee is added onto any court-imposed penalty, such as a fine or suspension.  It is generally sent to the driver as a separate bill from the DMV, within 30 days of the court-hearing.

The DRAF is imposed upon ALL motorists, in New York as well as those from other states.  The cost of the fee is based on the amount of points on the driver’s record as listed below:


Amount of PointsTotal DRAF
6 Points$300
7 Points$375
8 Points$450
9 Points$525
10 Points$600
11 Points$675
12 Points$725
13 Points$800
14 Points$875

For each point over 14, the driver is required to add an additional $75 to the 14-point penalty. The DRAF can be paid in one installment or in three equal installments over the course of 3 years.

If a driver is convicted of an alcohol, drug related offense or for the refusal to take a chemical test, the DRAF is $750.

It’s important to pay the DRAF in a timely manner.  Failure to pay the fee when it is due may result in a license suspension.  Sometimes drivers are unaware of the fine because the DMV sends the bill to an incorrect address.  The driver becomes aware of the unpaid fee after being pulled over by a police officer.  A police officer may arrest someone for a suspension arising out of failure to pay, so it’s important to be sure that the DMV has a correct address for you.  You can pay for the DRAF through the DMV website or in person.

If you are unsure about the amount of points on your license or the information on your driver’s record, you may request a Driver’s Abstract from the DMV.  Remember that accumulating 11 or more points within an 18 month period, your driver’s license may be suspended.

If you would like to lower the amount of points on your license, the Driver Safety Class will remove 4 points from your record, but will not help you avoid the DRAF.  Thus, the Driver Safety Program is an excellent idea if you are looking to avoid suspension due to license points, but if you’ve already incurred a fee, it’s important to pay it as soon as possible.


Photo Credit VisualHunt