Driving without insurance is illegal in all 50 states. It’s a serious offense with severe consequences. There are still many drivers that drive without insurance everyday. Driving without insurance is illegal because insurance helps cover the cost associated with an accident. If you are involved in an accident, then insurance compensates drivers for damage done to their vehicles, medical bills, and possible lost wages. If you’ve received a summons for driving without insurance, here’s what you need to know.
Fines and Penalties
If a police officer pulls you over and you are not properly insured, you might face heavy fines and possible jail time. In New York operating a vehicle without insurance can result in 15 days of possible jail time and up to $1,500 in fines. Your license may also be revoked for a year if you are found guilty.
If a police officer asks for proof of insurance and you fail to present them with one, then it is assumed that your vehicle is not insured. Even worse, if you’re caught without insurance after an accident, then the driver can sue you personally for the damages involved.
What to do
If you receive a summons for driving without insurance, and you are actually insured then a lawyer may help you avoid unnecessary fines and possible license suspension. Contact Michael Block at (212) 227-9008 or email MichaelBlock.Law@gmail.com with any questions.
*Photo Credit: “New York State Police Traffic Stop” By: dwightsghost