Leandra’s Law was enacted in 2009 by the New York State Legislature. The law increases penalties on drivers who are convicted of driving while intoxicated with a passenger age 15 or younger. Those penalties included being charged with Aggravated DWI/Child in Vehicle, which is a Class E Felony, and the installation of an ignition interlock device on any motor vehicle owned or operated by the driver for a period of at least 12 months. From 2009 to 2014, Suffolk County has arrested 384 drivers under this law, followed by Erie County with 308. Monroe County and Westchester County each had over 200 arrests, while Nassau, Orange, Onondaga, Queens, Kings, and Ulster counties round out the top 10 with over 100 arrests over the same 5 year period. If you have been arrested as a result of Leandra’s Law in Suffolk County or any other county in New York, please contact this office at 212-227-9008 so that we may assess your situation and help you determine your best course of action.