s

Tag Archives: Suffolk County

Suffolk County Expected To Raise Fees for Traffic Tickets

Suffolk County’s legislature is slated to vote on raising the amount of fees a violator will pay for traffic and parking tickets. The vote will take place in late March of this year. The increase in fees will double the fines for both traffic and parking tickets. Newsday expects this fee increase to pass, and give Suffolk county an additional $5.5 Million in fees. Interestingly, like NYC, the surcharges will often exceed the fine amount. What do you think of the increase in traffic and parking ticket fees in Suffolk County?

If you receive a summons for speeding, failure to stop at a stop sign, following too closely, speeding, or any other moving violation, an experienced traffic ticket attorney can help. Call us at 212-227-9008 or email us at michaelblock.law@gmail.com.
Photo via VisualHunt

Memorial Day Crackdown yields nearly 12,000 tickets

During the Memorial Day Weekend holiday, police issued over 12,000 tickets! Now more than ever motorists should be extremely mindful of traffic laws.

Read the full article below:

State Police issued nearly 12,000 tickets in a Memorial Day weekend crackdown on drunken driving and other traffic violations, Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo said.

More than 600 of those tickets were issued on Long Island, officials said.Troopers increased patrols from Friday through Monday in an effort to curb drunken and distracted driving, speeding and other infractions, the governor’s office said in a June 1 news release.

Cuomo commended the efforts of the troopers and other law enforcement agencies for “their continued vigilance against this reckless behavior and their ongoing efforts to keep New York’s roadways safe.”

The 96-hour enforcement campaign was funded by the Governor’s Traffic Safety Committee, as State Police also conducted sobriety checkpoints and targeted speeding and aggressive drivers.

Of the 11,946 tickets written, 224 were for drunken driving, Cuomo’s office said.

Troop L, headquartered in Farmingdale, issued 613 tickets during the holiday weekend, including 18 for drunken driving and 131 for speeding.

A breakdown of tickets issued by troop is at on.ny.gov/1XQ8KHl.

County police agencies also cracked down on drunken driving over the holiday weekend.

Fifty drivers in Nassau County were arrested between 7 p.m. Friday and 7 a.m. Tuesday, police said.

Suffolk County police said patrols from 7 p.m. on Friday to 7 a.m. Tuesday resulted in 44 DWI arrests, including a sobriety checkpoint Friday night to Saturday morning in North Patchogue that resulted in a dozen arrests on the north service road of Sunrise Highway.

Photo: Newsday

Should New York State Seat Belt Laws Change?

In New York State there are no laws requiring adults over the age of 16 to wear a seat belt in the backseat. Regardless of your age, wearing a seat belt is vital for safety, even in the seemingly safe backseat. The rate of death from not wearing a seat belt is ridiculously high and especially between the ages of 16-24.

Read the full article below and comment your opinion on the lack of a seat belt law.

Nassau and Suffolk had about one-fifth of all state fatalities in car crashes in one category: backseat passengers 16 or older who had not buckled up, the AAA said Tuesday.

Suffolk had the worst record in the state, with 88 such deaths from 1995 to 2014. Nassau ranked third, with 70 fatalities, just one fewer than in Queens.

In all of New York State, 886 back-seat passengers in this category were killed.

Unlike 28 other states and the District of Columbia, New York does not require anyone older than 16 who is riding in the backseat to belt up, according to the nonprofit’s survey.

“What is particularly shocking to me is that we were the first state with any seat belt law,” said Alec Slatky, policy analyst, AAA Northeast chapter.

Despite heated opposition, then-Gov. Mario Cuomo in 1984 enacted the nation’s first seat belt requirement; only in 2000 was it expanded to include children aged 10 to 16 who sit in the backseats.

Noting deaths jump once teenagers no longer must belt in, Slatky said the AAA supports bills the legislature is considering requiring anyone 16 or older to wear seat belts if they ride in back.

Back-seat passengers from ages 16 to 24 “had by far the lowest rate of belt usage and accounted for more than half of the fatalities,” the survey said.

“This is a major problem … If you look at just Long Island, it’s about 8 adults a year killed in the back seat of a car while not wearing a seat belt,” Slatky said.

Though people sitting in the back might feel they are at less risk of being ejected than those in the front, they are twice as likely to kill front seat passengers — becoming a “bullet” in the AAA’s parlance — than if they were wearing seat belts, it found.

Unbelted back-seat passengers are three times more likely to be killed and eight times more likely to be seriously injured than if they were buckled in.

Pondering why back-seat passengers, especially young adults, are not buckling up, Slatky said:

“I think part of it’s people think they are safer in the back seat; part of it is just bravado.”

And for young adults riding in cars driven by their peers, “the social norms in such a situation may discourage restraint,” the survey said.

These kinds of fatalities rise with the number of people who live in an area and how much driving they do, the survey found.

All of New York City’s five counties had 190 deaths — about twice the number in Suffolk.

Cops on Long Island Give Out Hundreds of Summonses in April

Suffolk County had a distracted driver initiative last month and issued almost 1,000 citations for various distracted driving infractions.

Read the article below:

You know who you are: Drivers who got busted last month in Suffolk County for texting or cellphone chatting, instead of paying full attention to the road.

As part of a monthlong distracted driver initiative, held in conjunction with state and local police, county police officers issued more than 930 citations in April for distracted driving — a 117 percent increase over the same time last year, according to Suffolk County police.

Correspondingly, county police responded to 11.75 percent fewer crashes — 3,320 of them — than in April 2015, police said in a news release issued Thursday.

During the crackdown, State Police on Long Island issued 810 citations, with 470 of them tickets for cellphone use, 314 of them for texting, and 26 for move-over law infractions, the release said.

There’s a “strong correlation” between such distracted driving violations and the number of motor vehicle crashes, police said.

Funding for the initiative, which was statewide, came from the Governor’s Traffic Safety Committee.

Suffolk County Roads are Dangerous and Police are Issuing More Summonses for Speeding

Suffolk County has one of the most dangerous streets in downstate New York. And with recent deaths caused by speeding, Suffolk County Police have increased their presence and are issuing more summonses.  Summonses for speeding received in Islip, New York contain 3 to 11 points. In addition the fine, theirs is an $88 NYS surcharge and a $100 annual driver assessment fee.

Retaining an Islip Traffic Ticket Attorney to fight a speeding ticket can help reduce the number of points on your driving record or waive the charges altogether depending on your case. For example, if an officer says that a driver was speeding on Smith Ave or Raymond Street, an experienced Islip Traffic Ticket Attorney can defend you.

Be aware, the higher the speeding violation, the more points you will receive. An easy way to calculate how many points your ticket is worth is to subtract the speed you were going, from the actual speed limit. For example, if you are pulled over for going 60 mph in a 40mph zone, just subtract 60 from 40. That leaves you with 20, and puts you in the 4 point ticket category.

Violation Points
Driving 1-10 MPH over the speed limit 3 points
Driving 11-20 MPH over the speed limit 4 points
Driving 21-30 MPH over the speed limit 6 points
Driving 31-40 MPH over the speed limit 8 points
Driving over 40 MPH over speed limit 11 points

Remember that the DMV can suspend your license for accumulating 11 points or more within 18 months (regardless of violation type). In addition, simply receiving 3 convictions for speeding tickets in an 18-month period results in a 6 month revocation of your license.

If you have a speeding ticket in Suffolk County or any traffic tickets and violations, call us immediately at (212) 227-9008 or email us at MichaelBlock.law@gmail.com.  When you hire Michael Block, Islip Traffic Ticket Attorney, you are not required to attend court.  We will always call to update you about your court dates and results as well as answer any questions you have about the process.

Suffolk County Village Gets License Plate Reader

The Suffolk County DA’s office is giving Asharoken a license plate reader that will match up the license plates of cars driving through the village with the county’s criminal database. The main use of this license plate reader will be to find drivers with outstanding warrants, though it’s possible that the device will be used to track drivers with unpaid traffic tickets. If you have any unpaid traffic tickets, or receive any traffic tickets in Suffolk County, please contact us at 212-227-9008.