Many of you may know that a conviction for improper cellphone or portable contact electronic device ticket carries a minimum fine of $138 on New York City. However most people do not realize the hidden costs that also are involved.
Convictions for these offenses will add five (5) points to your New York State Driver’s License. If you receive any other ticket within the same 18 month period, you will be subject to Driver Assessment fees. These fees kick after six points and start at $300. Each additional point will add more to your Assessment.
Additionally, your auto insurance premiums will likely increase after a conviction for these five (5) point tickets.
If you receive a summons for Cell Phone or texting or any other moving violation in New York State please give us a call at 212-227-9008
Photo via Visual hunt